Ebbtide for the Religious Right?

Here’s a headline I’ve dreamed about since the 1970’s:

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/03/15/opinion/15rich.html?em

I have the world of respect for Frank Rich, and by God I want to believe he’s right and for the next forty years we might be confident the Religious Right is politically dead.  But I have a problem with the idea.  My problem starts with places like Liberty University, Regent University (these were of course the finishing schools for intro-level operatives in the Bush/Cheney “White House”): not that they exist but that their continued existence tells us there remains a strong “born-again, Bible-believing” influence in the US, or will as long as enrollments and offerings indulgences continue from people who in the end are victims at the same time that they enable their victimizers.  How’s that for a vicious cycle?

Sure, Falwell’s dead; Dobson’s stepped down, discredited, etc.  To be honest, it doesn’t please me that Falwell’s dead, BTW.  Much as I disliked him for his point of view, he was a human being and I have no right to wish anyone dead or enjoy the fact that someone else has died.  That would be cold.  Instead, I wish he’d lived long enough to realize that on many important issues he was wrong, yet remained in the way of actual progress. 

How many centuries would that take?  I don’t know, but I’m still not happy about his death.  He left a family who clearly and genuinely loved him, and so, while I don’t agree with them about much in this world, they’re down by one in their family and there’s nothing to cheer in that except that the Falwells believe Jerry’s gone to be with God.  So I’ll wish that with them and continue:

In their wake, new generations wait.  They won’t wait for long.  There are enormous opportunities for some young, brash, telegenic figure to make that one counter-statement to something Pres. Obama might say, and there you have it.  Who’d take that person seriously now?  That depends.  Although not exactly Jonathan Krohn’s age, Mike Huckabee, for example, could fill that void and I think he’s preparing to do precisely that.  But if not him, there’ll be others.  They’re not going through their law programs, political science programs, etc., for nothing. 

In short, we might be staring at a period of relative peace where the Rel. Right’s concerned; I just wonder how long a vacation we get. 

Much more on this in the days to come.

About johnwylam1957

I'm a poet and teacher now living in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
This entry was posted in Culture/Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

