John and H1N1

Well, I’m feeling (somewhat) better now but for the past ten days I’ve been about as sick as I’ve ever been. Looks like what I’ve had is H1N1. Fever, overwhelming fatigue, the whole lot. And I don’t even want to tell you what happened to me this past Friday, but let’s just say I never knew a human lung could contain so much fluid. Not fun.

A couple of times, my wife found me passed-out at the desk having had the fever peak. There’ve been at least three times the fever’s “broken” only to make room for another relapse, another fever. Today’s been the first when I’ve had anything resembling energy, focus, and as such I have a message:

Don’t get H1N1. Really, don’t.

Probably I should’ve gone to hospital, but the fact is, I didn’t. Actually, I tried not to encounter people at all. Only in the last couple of days have I felt I wasn’t contagious. In all, not fun. Apparently I’ve lost a bit of weight, which for me isn’t a bad thing except, of course, for the method. There’s also the matter of lost time. Overall, it’s the time that bothers me more, now.

It’s times like these we understand how easy it is to fall ill in any number of potential ways—and how natural. Right now, I feel lucky it wasn’t worse. All the same, there’s no going out into the world fearing every breath and step. That’s not living but suffrage. So my attitude will be to get out and back to life.

About johnwylam1957

I'm a poet and teacher now living in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
This entry was posted in Culture/Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to John and H1N1

  1. Pingback: H1N1, An Overview with Lessons Learned « John Wylam's Blog

Leave a Reply

