John and H1N1, part 2: Thank You, Canadian Health Care System (Another Toronto Story)

Right now, I don’t want to think about what life would be like if I was uninsured and dealing with H1N1. Although most likely I was sick enough to be hospitalized, I didn’t go—mainly because, as the great Richard Pryor observed, hospitals are terrible places in which to get well. Still, I could’ve gone down to the local ER, presented myself, the attending employees would take my health card (probably wiping it down with an antibacterial cloth beforehand), and that, folks, would be that. No insurance companies for UHIP (in the interests of fairness, we also have private insurance through my wife’s place of business).

Instead, this being H1N1, I did what local and national health agencies direct: I stayed home for two weeks, not wanting to infect anybody else. During that time, I watched the US debate on health care, and came to one inexorable conclusion. The Republican Right hates poor people, hates most Americans, in fact, and would be far happier with a plutocracy in which they and only they would be in control, and as for the rest of us, well….you know how that goes. McConnell and his gang of expensively-attired thugs would rather most of us simply die.

Now, look: I do not wish H1N1 on anyone, not even Mitch McConnell. Besides, he has his single-payer health-care system, which obviously he knows other Americans don’t but he’s unwilling to provide for his own people. He’d only get well on the people’s dime anyway, and likely learn nothing at all from the experience, so aside from its immorality, such a wish would be impractical.  He’s a carryover from the old Reagan beliefs about health-care, ideas we now know are cancerous. Reagan led us down this road, and history should always remind us of his willing, active participation in acts of evil. Nothing less. And I will never forgive the American Right for any of this. It killed someone close to me, and bankrupted me in the process. Oh, and it damn nearly got me in the bargain. More on that next time.

About johnwylam1957

I'm a poet and teacher now living in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
This entry was posted in Culture/Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to John and H1N1, part 2: Thank You, Canadian Health Care System (Another Toronto Story)

  1. Pingback: H1N1, An Overview with Lessons Learned « John Wylam's Blog

Leave a Reply

