RIP: D. J. Richardson, From H1N1

Against the hopes and prayers of everyone who’s heard the story of D. J. Richardson and his fight with H1N1, he passed away from complications of that disease. I’ve said before in this blog that H1N1 is a far deadlier virus than some people want to believe, whether from ignorance or fear, and here we see yet another example of its strength. D. J. had the best of care and still died. First, my personal condolences to his family and to everyone in NASCAR who now suffer his loss.

Certainly, I understand the effects of H1N1. I was lucky to have survived. I’m all right now, but for months, literally months, with every relapse I wondered whether it could kill me too. It could have. It might have. I’m just blessed that it didn’t. I’m telling you: Get the vaccine, but until you do, think of D. J. Richardson, a legitimate tough guy in a tough world, killed by H1N1.

Still don’t want the vaccine?

Are you sure?

About johnwylam1957

I'm a poet and teacher now living in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
This entry was posted in Motorsports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

