The news is bad, but maybe not dire

So….I’m on my way to what I’m trying to think of at present as an enforced vacation. I’ve been excluded from Canada, but it might only be temporary. We’ll see what happens, folks, but right now I’m sad, I miss the cats, and none of this is making any sense to me at all. I’m living an Orwell story. No kidding.

Immigration today has been a nightmare. I’d had to surrender my passport, so agents were to meet me at my gate, hand me back the passport, and send me on my way.

Then my flight was changed. So was the terminal. Now the agents would have no way of finding me; I went back down to Immigration and told them. The agent told me, “No problem, I’ll just meet you over there.” That wasn’t good enough for the Americans, who made me cool my heels just a bit more. Apparently a certified true copy wasn’t good enough. Finally the agents showed and walked me to my gate, which is where I am now. He’s standing nearby, looking bored. I don’t blame him. It’s not like I’m going to make a run for it with a laptop and carry-on, after all.

So the next stage starts at the Cadillac Hotel. I will keep you informed, dear folks. I love you all.

About johnwylam1957

I'm a poet and teacher now living in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
This entry was posted in Life "After". Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

