Jul 29: “These Are Odd Times”

That’s a title from the great Larry Coryell that feels as though it personally applies, and maybe it does to you, too. It sure feels that way to me, anyway. Those of you who know me best are justly pissed because I keep managing to vanish sometimes. So what have I been doing?

Writing.

When I was, shall we say, “excluded” from Canada, my cats, and my life of seven years, my lawyer gave me a list of things I needed to do to help advance the cause of return. Now, they’re done. Now, I wait. Waiting is much harder than work, trust me.

In the meantime, I go back to my training as a writer. I was trained to leave absolutely nothing on the desk undone, and so now I’m trying to do precisely that. I do not believe in giving up; that’s patent nonsense. You shouldn’t give in either.

Look, folks: I’ve had it tough. Sure. But so do you, every damned day. You have obstacles and pain all your own, with which I couldn’t possibly identify. We understand each other.

So these are odd times for us all, aren’t they?

About johnwylam1957

I'm a poet and teacher now living in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
This entry was posted in Life "After". Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

