Earthquakes and Terror

Iran has suffered an enormous earthquake which has killed hundreds and injured tens of thousands. Or, as some Americans would have it (and they would, not me), “a good start.”

I’ve heard Americans say these things. I don’t.

Instead we all need to remember that we are one species trying to survive. The mullahs and Republicans alike need to understand this.

Iranians well know earthquakes, of course. It’s a simple fact of the regional geology. AND YET: How well I can imagine Americans actually cheering such an event.

Would they not realize the connection between that position and how some people celebrated the 9/11 disaster? And if not, why not?

About johnwylam1957

I'm a poet and teacher now living in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment