Aug 24: After Two Months

This amount of time is hard to deal with. At most I thought maybe it’d go six weeks. Now, who knows? I do know this: the kitties are taken care of. That means I’ll be all right, too. It’s one of those things you just have to believe in; otherwise, you don’t want to consider….right? Anyway, I should also say that this area especially appeals to me. I don’t know why. I enjoy the Sidewalk Café folks very much, I love the beach attitude; there are terrible problems here as well. I saw a homeless man on a patch of brown lawn this morning as cyclists and joggers passed in both directions. He didn’t notice them, and neither did they take account of him. At the same time, what did I do besides write it down in my mind? What was possible? I still don’t know.

I have met some wonderful people in this hotel. Fern and Gurel, Randy the manager, a guy from Beaver County, PA (who indeed brought out my intrensic yinzer accent, by God ‘n ‘at), really quite nice folks. They even accept me as I am. That always, always astonishes me.

So—I’m still here but getting used to it, somehow. After this amount of time, one had better. The shoulder pain (bursitis) has been a real problem of late but in the end I keep working. Seventy-plus poems for what will now be two separate manuscripts, In 8 and the, uh, whatever else will happen. We shall see.

About johnwylam1957

I'm a poet and teacher now living in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
This entry was posted in Culture/Politics, Life "After". Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

