OK. The Election’s Over. Now What?

A couple of loose notes in the election’s wake:

1) I watched the election coverage in a Santa Monica tavern. Believe you me, I held my breath, too. Mercifully, it was over fairly quickly; Romney took the fatal blow when Ohio’s results came in, which is when I ordered a rum and diet Coke, sat back, and exhaled for the first time in quite awhile, it seemed.

2) My initial reaction: Thanks. My second: White America is losing its hold on the absolute power it’s had for so long. Again, thanks. Finally, women and people of color and gays and lesbians and the rest of us have a chance to participate.

3) The godforsaken 1% now understands the lesson….oh, sorry. Of course they don’t. They’ll try their madness again. Be sure. The desperate made delirious are now on my mind.

4) Consider the simple idea of a black President. Now consider lifetimes’ worth of race hatred and so much more, fueled by the Right’s firestarting, and you get the idea.

5) Now what? No matter what, the onus is now on McConnell and Boehner to make concessions. They no longer have a choice.  The people have spoken, and if they don’t listen, they’ll continue to lose. I do think the bluehairs in the R. Party are an endangered species, though.  Bobby Jindal saw to that recently, and I much appreciated what he said. He’s right.

6) Compromise? Ha. I look forward to more stupidity from the Right, although now the ranks of the delirious are now somewhat diminished.  Lovely! Allen West’s loss by itself is a great weight off the nation’s back. He was wrong, always, and now he’s retired.

Thankfully.

Obama’s win, combined with Senate gains, means that politicians now must understand gridlock must end. By the way, how do you like the idea of politicians having to actually filibuster by standing in the well and staying there until they drop? I swear, there’d be Vegas money riding on it.

About johnwylam1957

I'm a poet and teacher now living in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
This entry was posted in Culture/Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

