With Respect To Chris Christie

Normally, I’m not a fan of Republicans these days. You, however, might well be something else.

I hope you’ll be an Eisenhower Republican, someone who listens, understands, and by God stands his/her ground.

I’ve no doubt of the latter.

I rarely agree with Ann Coulter, but when she said it was either you, or Romney and defeat, and she was correct. Still, I’m quite certain you wouldn’t be the Republican Coulter imagines. You, sir, are one of those Republicans to whom I listen most closely, and whose opinions I most respect on “the other side,” whatever that is. I miss rightists like you. My parents once drove me past the Eisenhower estate, and I well remember the quietude of that place—the wooden rails and a single iron gate. I thought it was beautiful, and never to be disturbed. I liked Eisenhower, but never more than I do today.

He understood.

It wasn’t just the military/industrial complex. It was the military/industrial/corporate complex that’s the real horror. Christie is not blind. Thankfully.

About johnwylam1957

I'm a poet and teacher now living in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
This entry was posted in Culture/Politics and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

